2017 SDC Results

The 2017 Student Design Competition sponsored by the Acoustical Society of America’s Technical Committee on Architectural Acoustics and the National Council of Acoustical Consultants, in conjunction with the Newman Student Award Fund, was judged at the 173rd meeting of the Acoustical Society of America in Boston, Massachusetts, June 25-29, 2017. The project involved the design of a multi-purpose facility with auditorium and rehearsal room at a small university located in a densely populated urban setting.  Many thanks to those who served on the panel of judges: Ann Fullerton (New England Design & Construction); Mark Holden (Jaffe Holden); Ben Markham (Acentech); Logan Pippitt (BAi); and Neil Thompson Shade (Acoustical Design Collaborative).

And the winners are…

First Honors (Wenger Award $1250 prize):



Commendations in no particular order ($700 prize):

  • Yu-Tien Yun, Christian Christhophorus, and An-Chi Tsai; National Taiwan University of Science and Technology (Faculty Advisor: Prof. Lucky Tsaih)
  • Santiago Alvarez-Buylla Puente, Erik Forsberg, and Daniel Jonsson; Chalmers Institute of Technology (Faculty Advisors: Profs. Wolfgang Kropp and Morten Lund)
  • Jerry Huang and Nathan Keil; Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute (Faculty Advisor: Todd Brooks)
  • Hikaru Abiko, Shunk Okamoto, and Mayuko Kobayashi; Shibaura Institute of Technology (Faculty Advisor: Hiroshi Furuya)

Congratulations to the winners! And thanks to all those who participated in this year’s competition!