2001 SDC Results

The 2001 Student Design Competition was judged at the 141st ASA conference in Chicago, June 2001. The project involved the design of performing arts center primarily for music on a small college campus in a major metropolitan area. There were 17 posters submitted from 10 different schools. This year’s panel of judges included: Mark Holden (Jaffe Holden Acoustics), Gary Madaras (Talaske Group), Ron McKay (McKay Conant Brook), Dawn Schuette (Kirkegaard and Associates), and Leslie Ventsch (Skidmore Owings & Merrill).

And the winners are…

First Honors ($1000 prize):

  • Jessica Newton and Byron Harrison, University of Hartford (Faculty Advisor: Bob Celmer)

Commendations in no particular order ($500 prize):

  • Mona Tamari and Jorge Carbonell, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (Faculty Advisor: Carl Rosenberg)
  • Lance Hayes and Derrick Knight, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute (Faculty Advisors: Chris Jaffe, Yasushi Shimizu, Rendell Torres)
  • Brian Corry and Lucy Williams, University of Kansas (Faculty Advisor: Bob Coffeen)
  • Greg Hughes, Ryan O’Halloran, and Jon Peterson, University of Kansas (Faculty Advisor: Bob Coffeen)

Congratulations to the winners! And many thanks to the donors of this year’s competition, including: Wenger Corporation, the Newman Student Award Fund, Telex/Electro-Voice and Auralex Acoustics, Inc.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *