2017 Acoustical Society of America Student Design Competition Announced

The announcement for the 2017 Acoustical Society of America Student Design Competition has been released.  The competition involves the design of a multi-purpose facility with auditorium and rehearsal room at a small university located in a densely populated urban setting.  This year the competition allows posters to include a digital code (e.g. a QR code) for the inclusion of supplementary material.  Teams must register by May 1, 2017, and final entries that are not hand-delivered at the conference must be received by June 19, 2017.  More information can be found here.

Nickchen Von Crawford from University of Florida receives 2016 Newman Medal

Congratulations to Cory Nickchen Von Crawford from the University of Florida!  Cory has been awarded a 2016 Newman Student Award Medal, for work on evaluating the acoustical properties of court rooms by comparing acoustical measurements made in a large number of court rooms to federal design criteria, as nominated by Prof. Gary Siebein.

Winners of the 2016 Student Design Competition announced

The results of the 2016 Student Design Competition have been announced! Congratulations to Alexandra Backstrom, Rakel Norberg, and Alexander Sandercock from Chalmers University of Technology (Faculty Advisors: Prof. Wolfgang Kropp and Prof. Morten Lund), recipients of the First Honors prize sponsored by the Wenger Foundation! Please see the corresponding webpage for a list of other commendation awardees and more details. Thanks to all who participated!